Faculty and Planning Committee


Paul J. Christo, MD, MBA+
Associate Professor
Division of Pain Medicine
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland
Click here for bio
Click here for video of PCPC Chair Dr Paul Christo discussing lower back pain.

2017 Faculty

David E. J. Bazzo, MD+
Clinical Professor of Family Medicine
University of California
San Diego, California

Allan J. Belzberg MD, FRCSC
The George J Heuer Professor
Department of Neurosurgery
Director: Peripheral Nerve Surgery
Co-Director: Neurosurgery Pain Research Institute
Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions
Baltimore, Maryland

Jason M. Beneciuk, PT, DPT, PhD, MPH, FAAOMPT
Research Assistant Professor
University of Florida Department of Physical Therapy
Residency and Fellowship Scholarly Mentor
Brooks Rehabilitation
Gainesville, Florida

Paul J. Christo, MD, MBA+
Associate Professor
Division of Pain Medicine
The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

David Copenhaver, MD, MPH*
Assistant Professor
UC Davis Cancer Pain Management and Supportive Care
UC Davis Division of Pain Medicine
Sacramento, CA

Howard A. Heit, MD, FACP, FASAM
Assistant Clinical Professor
Georgetown University
Washington, DC

Chris Herndon, PharmD
Associate Professor
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Southern Illinois University
Edwardsville School of Pharmacy Edwardsville
Illinois Clinical Assistant Professor
Department of Community and Family Medicine
Saint Louis University School of Medicine
St. Louis, Missouri

Louis Kuritzky, MD+
Clinical Assistant Professor Emeritus
University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida

Robert M. McCarron, DO
Associate Professor
Director, Integrated Medicine and Psychiatry Education
Director, Pain Psychiatry
Department of Anesthesiology, Division of Pain Medicine
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Department of Internal Medicine
University of California, Davis School of Medicine
Sacramento, California

Lisa M. Peters, MN, RN-BC**
Clinical Nurse Specialist | Pain
Seattle Children’s Hospital
Seattle, Washington

Michael Rabovsky, MD**
Department Chair
Family Medicine
Cleveland Clinic
Cleveland, Ohio

Edwin Salsitz, MD
Medical Director
Office-Based Opioid Therapy
Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Mount Sinai Beth Israel
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Mount Sinai Icahn School of Medicine
New York, New York

David J. Tauben, MD, FACP+
Chief of Pain Medicine
Hughes M. & Katherine G. Black Endowed Professor
Clinical Professor
Department of Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology & Pain
University of Washington Medicine
Seattle, Washington

Mark Steven Wallace, MD*
Pain Management Specialist
Chair, Division of Pain Medicine
UC San Diego Health
San Diego, California

David A. Williams, PhD
President, American Pain Society
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Rheumatology
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
University of Michigan Health System
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Wendy L. Wright, MS, RN, APRN, FNP, FAANP +
Owner and Family Nurse Practitioner
Wright & Associates Family Healthcare, PLLC
Bedford, New Hampshire


+Indicates planning committee member
** Planning Committee only
*invited faculty